Daily Archives: May 12, 2008

Playing With Virtual Tinker Toys

It is too easy to blog. It is too easy to set up multiple blogs. It is too easy to mirror your content across several blogging platforms at once. It is too easy to add widgets and themes and plug-ins and ads and feeds and mobile connectivity and galleries and on and on and on.

These days I have a livejournal, a wordpress.com account, a blogger account, a vox account, a myspace account and a facebook account. To the last account, the same posts that appear in the first three accounts upload to the notes and Mirrorblog sections. If I could figure out how to do the same with vox and myspace (and I am sure there is a way) the same content would populate all six blogs.

Why am I doing this? Well, partly I am experimenting. I have been noodling around with blogging platforms to see which ones I like best, what strengths and weaknesses each application has, what I feel most comfortable working with, and what offers me the most features. Also, the brilliant Rory Bowman has generously provided space on his server to play with Movable Type, the first blogging application I had ever played with back in the days of the now defunct blargblog.

It is probably no surprise that I am going with WordPress. Over the next month, in fact, I will be using it to design three different websites: Mooretoons, In Contempt, and Wanderlost. For the latter two I will be using the Comicpress theme, modified to my special needs and with some help from Barry Deutsch, who has done an excellent job at Hereville. Movable Type is a wonderful application, but the learning curve is just too high and time is just too precious in my work/parenting/creating schedule.

The roll-out is going to be about a month. So I am not changing much visibly yet. The only thing noticeable will be the absence of Wanderlost updates until June 12, 2008. I hate to do it, but I need the time to develop these sites and write the next story. I don’t wanna hack the artwork, or put up a shoddy story – or shoddy websites for that matter. The end result is going to be a Wanderlost site with its own domain name (wanderlostcomics.com, not sheldonthepig.com) and with a workable, feature-rich site.

It’s gonna be so freakin’ boss, duuuude, ya gotta believe me!

As for facebook, livejournal, etc. – yeah, I’m keeping all that. I use facebook for totally different reasons these days (like my scrabulous addiction), I love my livejournal fwends, and myspace is a necessary evil.

Like I said, it is way too easy to do these things.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: , , , , , ,